Who's minding my mind?

See, now I had a great idea on the way into work regarding something I was going to expound on.  Now do you think I can remember what it was?

Nope.  Nada.  My mind has less in it than a beer can at a frat party.

So our new topic now becomes, what is in a mind?

Minds, or more specifically memory is fallible.  You think you know things, but on cross examination you often find out that what you thought you knew wasn’t actually what you knew…  oh my, so what do we know?

I suppose there is some truth in the old adage, the older we get, the less we know, and the more that we know we don’t know…  (follow that?)

So, in essence, reality is subjective, and memory is twice as bad.
Here’s a link on the first part.

Link:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subjective_character_of_experience

What he’s saying here is basically, that what you think you see is dependent on who you are and what you have seen before, thus can relate current observations to.

For example, two people will view dusk differently.  My wife and I think the sun has gone down, about half an hour apart.  I have light blue eyes, while her’s are hazel.  Same event, two different people with different colored eyes, will physically see things differently.  Odd, but there it is.  She thinks it’s dark about the same time I notice that it’s just not quite as bright as before.

For an article on light sensitivity and why different colored eyes operate differently, start here:  http://www.blurtit.com/q705103.html, then google the question “Light Sensitvity and Eye Color

 

The second part, what do we remember and why/how do retain such information?  That question is a little more complicated…

I’d encourage any and all takers to put up their two cents on this one.  There’s all kinds of approaches, let alone an actual answer….

I’m going to reduce my stress level here however, and get back to work…

 

Dan.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

