Blatant Reposting with new thoughts…

Lead in:  I was just going back over some of my old posts and re-read this poem….

And I am moved to repost it with some new thoughts on it…  so you get to hear me ramble on from the soapbox again.

Written by William Wordsworth (what a good name for a poet hey?)

The World is Too Much With Us; Late and Soon

The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
Little we see in nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
This Sea that bares her bosom to the moon,
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers,
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not. – Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

*****

So in this poem I am reading a plaintive cry to hearken back to the simpler days when things you could not (and still can’t) buy were valued more highly than material goods.

Who’s been to church?  Who has felt the love from a small child to their parent, who has felt the warm glow of a parent’s tempered love aging with that parent, but still as strong as when you were young.

Wordsworth was maybe a little heavy handed in his imagery, most wouldn’t know what half of the references he makes are without first Google-ing or Wiki-ing it, but such is life.  Time moves forward at all costs, regardless of our desires.

If we wast that time pursuing those things that mean much to others, we debase our own value to ourselves.  Or in red-neck speak, “Housework will wait, c’mon honey, the neighbors will always find sumthin’ they don’ like ’bout us, stop trying to make them happy and let’s go fishin’.”
“Getting and Spending, we lay waste our powers”  What does this line mean to you?  I am seeing the capitalism of the turn of the century running rampant,  will we learn in time, or is humanity doomed to despoil it’s only nest before we become mature enough to leave that nest and conduct ourselves responsibly?

Oh my, I’m going to have to stop this here, I’ll make a note to follow up tomorrow with another post about what I just stopped,   but please, if you can manage it, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.  I promise if I see them I’ll try to respond.  This is a conversation I’m looking forward to having…

Dan Casey, Signing Off.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

